Rear Diffuser

Sebnuts

Need some help with a rear diffuser design (I have zero aero knowledge).
I made the bottom of my subframe flush with the bottom of the chassis, so enclosing the bottom of that will be pretty straight forward.
I'm thinking riv nuts in the stock rear floor pans to bolt up the leading edge, and then drilling the subframe and using these automotive push clips to retain the rest of it.
1690424547086.png
Would these be sufficient, or are the forces high enough that everything should be riv nutted and bolted?
I drew up a thing that kind of looks like a Lotus Elise diffuser.
1690424756881.png1690424819369.png1690424865871.png1690425276684.png
I'm thinking match the DF floor pan material thickness for the main piece and using 1/8" aluminum for the side pieces. These 3 pieces would be riveted together.
I went a little thicker on the side pieces because they're kind of hanging out in the middle of nowhere. Thinking maybe some little struts or cables might be needed to strengthen further?
1690425197874.png
Any comments/suggestions for improvements would be greatly appreciated.

Rttoys

Goblin Guru
I bolted mine on, but rivnuts will work fine. we just followed the lines of the rear subframe and added some fins, which are bolted on. It could use some refining, but it works. Not sure on the benefits, but it kind of finishes the back end.

Desert Sasqwatch

Goblin Guru
IMO, the edges of the aluminum will wear at the plastic fasteners pretty quickly if there is any movement (inevitable). Rivnuts are probably the best choice to keep things in place and nor have worry about anything coming apart at an inopertune time. Just saying... :D

MX184

349318244_6244440405634540_438897402988482790_n.jpg

Wish I had a better picture of it at the moment. But I went the rivnut route into the subframe. So far its survived a drag and drive in the carolinas, and a track day at notoriously rough Sebring.

Rttoys

Goblin Guru