Gearjammer’s City Goblin – 06 SS/SC G85

gearjammer

Hello
My name is Steve. I am a mechanical engineer working as an engine calibration engineer for the company that makes the ECM used with the LNF. I plan to use my Goblin for cruising. I have always lightly tinkered with my daily drivers. My favorite was a supercharged 2005 Acura RSX Type-S. Since then my vehicles have become larger, more fuel efficient and more...family friendly (currently driving a 2012 2.4L Malibu). My wife finally agreed that I needed a project car just for fun. Everything that interested me was too expensive (late model Corvettes, Camaros, ATS-V). We also though I might get bored too quickly with a vehicle that was already “finished” for the most part. One day I read about Factory Five’s 818 project. It sounded like a lot of fun, but the donor and kit costs was too much for me. Only three months ago did I hear about the DF Goblin. I like the staged kits, low donor cost, GM components, and I wanted that whine I miss from my RSX.
So a week ago we picked up my Donor (2006 SS/SC G85 with 129k miles):

Here is how she sits a week later:

Dash, Engine, Trans, Suspention all ready to come out...just waiting on the proper tools. Hood, Front / Rear Seats, Door Panels, and a set of headlights are already sold and gone. Thinking about ordering stage 1 soon.

Ross

Goblin Guru
Congrats, and welcome to the Goblin life. Looks like you have a great start... same donor as mine. So as an engine calibration engineer, do you already know how to tune engines, or is your career more specific than that?

gearjammer

I did some basic tuning with my RSX a long while back using Kpro, just to protect from knock till I could get a professional tune. I don't intend to do a final tune for this vehicle either, I will leave it to the professionals. The stuff I calibrate is safety related...In case the ECM becomes corupted I ensure it will not drive off on its own uncontrollably.

Desert Sasqwatch

Goblin Guru