New Gearbox / Clutch Upgrade Procedure

GoblinGuyZ

Hi all, purchased my Goblin assembled so never had the joy / pain of putting it altogether but I have a brand new 0 mile LSD gearbox for my LSJ and stage 2 clutch (current one is beginning to slip anyway) to install and wondering for all who have done this what the best process is, how involved an anything special considerations etc. Is it full engine out etc? A basic summary of steps would be much appreciated so I don't give myself more work than necessary or underestimate what's involved. If it's engine out what's the process for that. Sorry to sound like a complete newb but better to ask a dumb question than regret it later lol. TIA

Ross

Goblin Guru
I put a new clutch in my LSJ the spring of 2020, then the next winter, I put a new F35 in it with a Quaife differential.
Yes it is a full engine out, as you can't separate the LSJ from the F35 if it is in the goblin.
Check out my build thread, as it probably documents it better than my memory can.

GoblinGuyZ

I put a new clutch in my LSJ the spring of 2020, then the next winter, I put a new F35 in it with a Quaife differential.
Yes it is a full engine out, as you can't separate the LSJ from the F35 if it is in the goblin.
Check out my build thread, as it probably documents it better than my memory can.
Thanks, will check it now. Was hoping it could be an engine in but I know that was a long shot. Anything I should change out once I'm in there?

Ross

Goblin Guru
Replace the main seal on the crankshaft? It is cheap, and hard to get to.
I replaced the clutch hydraulic slave, and the 3 short bolts, with 3 socket head bolts.
I had O'Reilly Auto Parts resurface the stock flywheel, or you could replace it with a light weight one.
New flywheel bolts, fresh paint, put everything back in your goblin.

You still get to refill the engine fluids, and get the air out.